Review : Hada Labo ES Lotion (Sensitive Skin)

Alright guys, I still have a review pending, if I had not totally gone off track in my previous post.

Hada Labo ES Lotion - 170ml

Hada Labo ES Lotion – 170ml

**pics stolen from google**

Like I previously stated, I am way too late on the Hada Labo band wagon.  I did brush through the products briefly when they were first in the market but they were my mum’s, and I had terribly oily skin back then, so it wasn’t concrete enough of an experience.  Another time, I was outstation and was out of facial cleanser.  Hearing that Hada Labo was a good brand, I grabbed its cleanser in a smaller packing (before they had the AHA+BHA cleanser), and had breakouts after that.  My beautician told me that it wasn’t fit for me, and that was also the time I learnt that why people with oily skin should only use gel cleansers.

So that sums up all that I knew about Hada Labo, I know it works great for most people but I knew that I wasn’t a part of their targeted audience.  I had never looked that way since, at least not until their Firming + Lifting series came out, the red ones.  And then, this ES series came out.  I contemplated really hard on what to do, which to use, I’m in my late 20s and I should really go all out on anti-aging or aging prevention, yet again I have sensitive skin… blah blah… trust me, I thought harder and longer than when I had to take up a loan.

So upon learning that ES series had Zinc as a property, I made up my mind and went ahead with the ES series.  Because as a daily regime, I need that ZINC, and Zinc has oil-control properties.  So I thought my plan was brilliant!  Nano-Hyaluronic Acid + Zinc for daily usage, and Hada Labo Firming + Lifting Mask once a week!  I get the best of both!

The Ingredients

Hada Labo ES Lotion - The ingredients

Hada Labo ES Lotion – The ingredients

Well, upon reading the ingredients I got a bit skeptical seeing that both Hyaluronate compounds are listed as the least 2 ingredients, even though it’s been sold to be the key ingredient!  But after a bit of research I learnt that HA concentration is unworkable if it gets anything beyond 10%.  So that knowledge assured me that I wasn’t cheated by their marketing.

It is also –

  • fragrance free
  • colorant free
  • mineral oil free
  • preservatives free
  • Alcohol free

And unlike the rest of the Hada Labo series, this one is MADE IN JAPAN.  So if that matters to you, it would be a plus point.

The Experience

I grew to like the product more.  When I first started, especially it doesn’t come with a pump-head, the amount you pour out may not be meticulously correct, or as needed.  Sometimes you over pour, sometimes you get it right.  When I pour too much product, it gets really tacky, the face is sticky, the hands are sticky.  But once you have the amount adjusted each time, application is a sail.  Pat til absorbed, let it set in for a while, and follow up with your moisturizer.

So much so, I even apply it on my chronic severe dry skin on my legs!  Hah.  And it works! Remember the first boost of hydration to really thirsty skin I talked about?  It works by the laws of that theory!

The Conclusion

Oily Skin Folks – Some oily skin people are not too troubled with the oily skin, but some are battling it.  If you are battling it, this is not recommended for you.  Even with the Zinc property in it, it’s not enough for oil control.  But if you are not troubled yet have oily-super oily skin, you can use this at night in an air conditioned room.  The trick to test whether it’s suitable, is if you wake up with a layer of oil on your face and your pores dilated next day, or you have breakouts after that.  If any of those occurs, skip this, hand the product to your mom, or apply them on your legs 😛

Dry Skin Folks – Well, the dry skin folks would definitely have used or are using this.  I would suggest that you stick to the original Hada Labo Lotion as it has Super Hyaluronic Acid?  Twice the Hyaluronic Acid.  This ES series doesn’t have that claim.

Sensitive Skin Folks – Well, there you have it.  Go Grab it!

3 comments

  1. just purchased this a couple of weeks ago because my original bottle just ran out. not so sure i like how it pours – for some reason it doesn’t quite drip out the same way: big drops that i usually use three of. haven’t really tried it out yet to compare but i have a feeling i might still prefer the original better. it definitely seems to be a tad less hydrating.

  2. all that said i’ve generally gotten good results from their lotions… not too keen on their milks and creams though, but i apply their lotions religiously under my skincare regime. my skin has been looking pretty amazing since i started doing so.

Leave a Reply

